Image

I really hoped this day would never come.

But realistically, I know my stressful life, my emotional eating, and yes, my slow metabolism.

It’s not as bad as it could be, but it’s not as good as it should be.  Over the past two years since I hit my goal of 155, I have slowly crept back up to 165.  That’s a far cry from my initial 194, but it’s still terribly frustrating.  My clothes are tight, and there are even a couple of things that don’t fit me anymore.  A lot of bad habits that I thought I’d kicked have now returned.

Ugh.

I hate typing that.  I hate admitting it.  I wanted to live in “happily ever after” where I would never gain weight again, but that’s not the fairy tale world I live in.  I live in a world where (just like everybody else) I do well for a while, and then I fail.  And when I fail, it’s crucial that I don’t give up.

I’m kind of starting to think that this process is a little bit like fighting an alcohol addiction: you’re always in recovery.  Alcoholics, however, have the distinct advantage of being physically able to cut all alcohol out of their lives.  Food is a necessity.

At least this time, I don’t feel powerless.  I know exactly what to do.  I’m going to break out my Sensa (assuming it hasn’t expired), cut my portions WAY down, snack on fruits and veggies, take the longer walk home from school, watch “Biggest Loser” reruns while I make dinner (I find that show super motivating), and blog my progress on a weekly basis.  This time, I want to get down to 150 so I can avoid the downward spirals that occur after an indulgent weekend when I find I’ve gained a couple pounds.  Those are so hard to recover from.

So here goes:

(New) Week 1

Weight: 165

Goal: 150

BMI: 24.4 (at the heavy end of normal; a mere .5 away from being overweight)